Wall of Fame2019-07-27T11:17:41-06:00

District 99 Wall of Fame

This Wall of Fame showcases those members of our District who have been recognized by Toastmasters International, as well as those who have been recognized by our own District 99 (and 42 prior to 2016). The following notations outline the ‘Pride’ of our District, those who have made significant contributions to the District, and those who have demonstrated excellence in many of the cornerstones of Communication and Leadership.

District 99 – A Brief History

The first Toastmasters club established in what is now District 42 was the Wascana Club #577 in Regina in March 1948. Following that, Twin Rivers Club #667 was chartered in Calgary in December 1948. Several years went by before the Saskatoon Club #450 was founded in March 1952.

Edmonton launched its first club, Northern Lights Club #489, in March 1953. Soon after that new clubs began to sprout, such as, Prince Albert Club #1318 in October 1953 and Camrose Club #1432 in December 1953.

At that time, the above mentioned clubs were all under the jurisdiction of District 20, the North Dakota and Manitoba area. At a conference held in Moorehead, Minnesota on April 25, 1953, a resolution was adopted to divide the District in two – one in Canada, the other in the United States. This was subsequently ratified at the International Convention, on July 1, 1954.

George R. Tatlock of Winnipeg became the first District Governor of then District 42. The District at that time consisted of 17 clubs in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. Club growth continued. On July 1, 1959, the District was divided again, with District 64 being created to encompass Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario. A. Ernie Pallister, of Calgary, was elected the first District Governor District 42, consisting of Alberta and Saskatchewan. Bow Valley Club #1494, “Y” Club #2478, Chinook Club #1448, Foothills Club #3078 and Plains Club #3144, were added to the roster of prestigious clubs.

From this nucleus, District 42 grew to over 300 clubs, consisting of nearly 4,200 members. District 42 was proud to be recognized throughout the world for its energy, enthusiasm and excellence.

In 2015 it was determined that District 42 should again be reorganized into two district to allow for a more efficient and manageable size. The split was formalized at the Spring 2016 Convention in Red Deer, Alberta and on July 1, 2016, District 99 was created encompassing the Central and Northern portions of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Our shared history with District 42 remains a source of pride and those individuals that helped build our previous District are now also honoured on our District 99 Wall of Fame.

Links to Award Information

More history is available in the District Governors  – A Brief History

To view the pdf version click here

District 42 – prior to 2016
1954-55 George Tatlock 1955-56 Elwood Gorrie
 1956-57 Byron (Barnet) Jones  1957-58 George Cameron
 1958-59 Berk McGibbon  1959-60 A. Ernie Pallister
 1960-61 Roy V. Maber  1961-62 Cec J. Primeau
 1962-63 Peter Podmaroff  1963-64 Steven Varro
 1964-65 Robert D. Kerr  1965-66 Bruce Godwin ATM
 1966-67 Al B. Ripley  1967-68 Harold C. Bickel ATM
 1968-69 Ron M. Chapman DTM  1969-70 Harry G. Shuttleworth DTM
 1970-71 Eugene Thompson DTM  1971-72 Al Fahlman DTM
 1972-73 Robert L.Jones ATM  1973-74 Fred G. Lawson DTM*
 1974-75 John Koyko DTM  1975-76 Russ A. Holmberg DTM
 1976-77 Jim Thompson ATM*  1977-78 Neil Wilkinson DTM*
 1978-79 Al Munroe DTM*  1979-80 Peter Kossowan DTM**
 1980-81 Irene B. Murray DTM  1981-82 Rick Sydor DTM*
 1982-83 Everett W. Ritson DTM**  1983-84 W. Peter Francis DTM*
 1984-85 Ken Tanner DTM***  1985-86 Helgi Goodman DTM**
 1986-87 Melodye Kunnas ATM***  1987-88 Carol Blair DTM*
 1988-89 Majeed Mustapha DTM*  1989-90 Clif Skrypnyk DTM
 1990-91 Elizabeth Pasieka DTM**  1991-92 David Fulton DTM*
 1992-93 Dona Wheaton DTM  1993-94 Flo Mawson DTM*
 1994-95 Buffy da Silva, DTM  1995-96 Larry Andrews, DTM
 1995-96 Larry Andrews, DTM  1996-97 Tim Lambert, ATM
 1997-98 Brad Korbo, DTM*  1998-99 Danie Hardie, DTM
 1999-2000 Linda Hawk, DTM  2000-01 Karen Egge, DTM*
 2001-02 Drew Kirk, DTM  2002-03 Jacquie Schnider, DTM
 2003-04 Barry Matthews, DTM  2004-05 Mavis Oberding, DTM
 2005-06 Troy Wruck, DTM  2006-07 Mona Cooley, DTM*
 2007-08 Larry Verbitsky, DTM  2008-09 Joan McAulay, DTM*
 2009-10 Tim Hubick, DTM  2010-11 Greg Gazin, DTM
 2011-12 Chuck Leblanc, DTM*  2012-13 Chuck Leblanc, DTM**
(Don Francis, DTM, July-Sept)
 2013-14 Keith Lee, DTM**  2014-15 Doris Henn, DTM*
 2015-16 Marg Faryna, DTM
  Past District 99 Directors
After District Reformation (2016)
 2016-17 Lorraine Wheatley DTM 2017-18 Donald Zurakowski DTM
2018-19 Glenn Walker DTM

Toastmasters International Recognition status achieved
* Distinguished District
** Select Distinguished District
*** President’s Distinguished District

International Officers from District 42

Don Paape DTM
1969-70  Third Vice President  1970-71 Second Vice President
 1971-72 Senior Vice President  1972-73 International President
 1973-74 Past International President
 Neil Wilkinson DTM
 1990-91 Third Vice-President  1991-92 Second Vice-President
 1992-93 Senior Vice-President  1993-94 International President
 1994-95 Past International President

International Directors from District 42

1964-66 A Ernie Pallister 1978-80 Neil Wilkinson DTM
 1986-88 Ken Tanner DTM  1990-92 Carol Blair DTM
 1994-96 Dona Wheaton DTM  2000-02 Danie Hardie, DTM
 2002-04 Linda Hawk, DTM  2010-12 Jacquie Schnider, DTM
%d bloggers like this: